National Curriculum | Independent Primary School Buckinghamshire

National Curriculum

The National Curriculum is a framework for teaching and learning across a range of subjects for all pupils of compulsory school age (5-16) attending state schools. The National Curriculum has two objectives:

  1. To provide opportunities for all pupils to learn
  2. To achieve and to promote pupils’ spiritual, moral, social and cultural development preparing pupils for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of life

Independent schools are not required to teach the National Curriculum, although many choose to do so. Many independent preparatory schools follow the Common Entrance curriculum which covers the National Curriculum but deals with material in greater depth and extends the range of topics covered.

The National Curriculum covers 6 stages of education Foundation Stage

  • ages 3 to 5 Key Stage 1
  • ages 5 to 7 (Year 1 and 2) Key Stage 2
  • ages 7 to 11 (Year 3 to 6) Key Stage 3
  • ages 11 to 14 (Year 7 to 9) Key Stage 4
  • ages 14 to 16 (Year 10 and 11) Key Stage 5
  • ages 16 to 19 (Year 12 and 13)

Gateway in Pictures

View All

Receive regular updates

Sign up to our newsletter

Gateway Pupil in music lesson